Add more content here...
October, 2018

Australian Marketing Industry Shines at the Australian Marketing Institute’s 2018 Marketing Excellence Awards

Wednesday night marked the 2018 AMI Awards for Marketing Excellence Gala Dinner. Now in its 36th year, the AMI recognises professional excellence in marketing practice across diverse customer, budgets and strategic approaches. This year more than 200 organisations from all around Australia entered the Awards and more than 400 people attended the event at Sheraton on the Park to celebrate our industry’s success stories – a wonderful result for a special occasion that gets bigger and better every year.

Each year the awards honour campaigns from a diverse range of budgets, strategic approaches and audiences.

“Our awards not only recognise and inspire excellence for those in the marketing profession, they show the depth of industry capability and act as a powerful narrative for marketing,” said AMI Chair Andrew Thornton.

Top honours for the Marketing Campaign of the Year went to Mater Education for their campaign on enrolment rates for nurses, while Tourism Australia took home the coveted Marketing Team of the Year award. Other awards winners included Lisa Ronson  (Tourism Australia), who was named Chief Marketing Officer of the Year. Nicola Hepenstall (The Front Project) was awarded the title of Certified Practising Marketer of the Year, while Chrissie Maus (Chapel Street Precinct Association) was recognised as Feature Leader of the Year. Finally, Mark Ritson was presented the Sir Charles McGrath award in recognition of his experience and contribution to the marketing industry over the past 22 years.

“Hats off to the 100 judges who have given up their valuable time to assess the innovative, creative and effective campaigns 
and marketing practice across 227 entries from 200 organisations and in 28 categories. 
A tough job!” said AMI CEO Lee Tonitto.

National Award Winners

AMI National Awards winner digital book

2018 Awards digital book, generously prepared by Ark Media, is now available to download.


Hats off the the national award winners listed below:

  • Sir Charles McGarth Award – Mark Ritson, Melbourne Business School
  • Chief Marketing Officer of the Year – Lisa Ronson, Tourism Australia
  • Best Marketing Agency of the Year – Braveda
  • Certified Practising Marketer of the Year – Nicola Hepenstall, The Front Project
  • Marketing Team of the Year – Consumer Marketing Team, Tourism Australia
  • Campaign of the Year – Practical Course. Exceptional Nurses, Mater Group
  • Future Leader of the Year Award – Chrissie Maus, Chapel Street Precinct Association
  • Brand Revitalisation – BANZ Carewear for kids: A baby brand comes of age, Bubblefish Creative Brand Building
  • Consumer Acquisition Marketing – The C-Suite. Perhaps the toughest nuts to crack, 3M
  • Consumer Insights – Celebrating the SME Marketing Through Effective Thought Leadership, EY Sweeney & CGU
  • Consumer Retention – A Global Collaboration Community Fostering Innovation, Pitney Bowes
  • Content Marketing – Bellamy’s Firsts, Web Profits & Bellamy’s Organic
  • Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) – Find My Hero Australia, Emergency Services Health
  • Creativity in Brand, Product or Service – Monaro Mall development, Canberra Centre & QIC
  • Customer Experience Marketing – Revitalising Roadside, RACT.
  • Education – Practical Course. Exceptional Nurses, Mater Group
  • Financial Services Marketing – Westpac Rescue Rashie, Westpac Banking Corporation & Saatchi & Sattchi
  • Innovation in Product/Service – A Speed campaign accelerated by hyper-relevance, BCM & Department of Transport and Main Roads
  • Integrated Marketing Communications – Get Set for the Games, Department of Transport and Main Roads & Clemenger Brisbane
  • Non-Profit Marketing – After Hours Crisis Support Services: Encouraging Help Seeking Behaviours in the Murrumbidgee, Juntos Marketing & Murrumbidgee Primary Health Network
  • Property Marketing – Harmony by AVID Property Group, AVID Property Group & Martins Brand House
  • Public Sector Marketing – Reducing Fare Evasion on Sydney’s Light Rail Network Through Behavioural Science, Transdev & Transport for New South Wales
  • Small Budget Marketing – 100% occupancy on a shoestring budget, Braemar Presbyterian Care
  • Social Marketing and Social Changes – Queensland Health Bowel Cancer Screening campaign, Queensland Health
  • Social Media and Digital Marketing – Visiting Friends and Relatives, Tourism Western Australia & Cummins & Partners, Big Head Digital
  • Sponsorship Marketing – Open Colleges – AFLW Sponsorship, Open Colleges
  • Tourism & Hospitality Marketing – Dundee Super Bowl Campaign, Tourism Australia
  • Marketing Communications B2B & B2C – University of Melbourne

We encourage you to share these materials through your social media, on your websites and other promo materials.

State Awards Winners

State winners have been announced celebrated formally in an interactive e-book highlighting companies and their campaigns. To find out more about state winners, read here.



For further information or any queries please contact:
Sophia Pellatt
Senior Account Manager
(03) 9907 5012
Erin Dowling
Senior Account Executive
(03) 9901 5010